Centre for Policy Research

The UNU Centre for Policy Research (UNU-CPR) is a UN-focused think tank based at UNU Centre in Tokyo. UNU-CPR’s mission is to generate policy research that informs major UN policy processes in the fields of peace and security, humanitarian affairs, and global development.

UNU-CPR has two core programmes. The first focuses on the changing nature of violence and provides concrete insights into how humanitarian, development, and security actors need to adapt to reduce violence and its impact on society in the context of organized crime, terrorism, criminal violence, and rapid urbanization.

The second core programme focuses on securing developmental outcomes in fragile contexts. It draws from UNU-CPR’s engagement on development, peacebuilding, and humanitarian response to understand the particular challenges of operating in the most challenging environments, as well as on how to build the right systems to measure progress and ensure accountability.


Adam Day

Senior Policy Adviser

Rebecca Brubaker

Policy Adviser

Cale Salih

Research Officer

Alexandra Ivanovic

Senior Project Manager

Thomas Doerfler

JSPS-UNU Postdoctoral Fellow

Nazia Hussain

JSPS-UNU Postdoctoral Fellow

Lee Schrader

JSPS-UNU Postdoctoral Fellow

Basilio Valdehuesa

Operations Manager

Dahlia Simangan

Postdoctoral Research Fellow


We at the Centre for Policy Research appreciate your feedback and will try to respond to every information request promptly.
Please send your question or comment via the form below.
Please note that the United Nations University is not a funding agency; we will not respond to requests for financial support.

Please check the reCAPTCHA box below before submitting your enquiry.